Posts

Blog tour: The Mind's Eye

Image
Welcome to the blog tour for The Mind’s Eye by Miles Hudson . Get yourself comfortable and read on to discover the behind-the-scenes of the sequel to 2089 . Hi Miles! First of all, I would like to congratulate you on the publication of The Mind’s Eye ! Can you please briefly tell us what it is about? A: Thanks Silvia, and thanks for inviting me on to your book blog. Hopefully, this will give you some idea about the story, but I didn’t want to give too much away as there are many twists and turns. The year is 2091, and a universal system for remotely tapping into the optic and auditory nerves of all humans is in place. Everything that people see and hear is detected, and the feeds of this information are published publicly online. Nothing can be secret. It is the ultimate surveillance society but, as everybody’s sights and sounds are publicly viewable, there is a different atmosphere from most fiction concepts of an oppressive, surveillance-based dystopian society. The surviving popul

Blog tour: The Other Daughter

Image
Welcome to the blog tour for The Other Daughter by Caroline Bishop ! Synopsis: When Jessica discovers a shocking secret about her birth, she leaves her London home and travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her journalist mother spent time in the country forty years earlier, reporting on the Swiss women’s liberation movement, but what she doesn’t know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more? How did this book end up in my hands? I was gifted a copy of the book by the publisher so that I could review it. Was it a page-turner? Yes, absolutely. In general, I find dual timeline novels hard to put down as I keep wanting to find out how one timeline affects the other. In this case, the broad spectrum of emotions that Jess goes through made it even more unputdownable as I felt totally invested in her life. Did the book meet my expectation

Blog tour: The Heart Stone

Image
Welcome to the blog tour for The Heart Stone by Judith Barrow , who generously dedicated some of her time to join the Q&A you’ll find below. Hi Judith! First of all, I would like to congratulate you on the publication of The Heart Stone ! Can you please briefly tell us what it is about? A: Thank you, Silvia, launching a new book is an exciting time. The Heart Stone begins in 1914, on the day the First World War is declared in Britain, and the story centres on sixteen-year-old Jessie Jenkins. Her friend, Arthur Dawson, lies about his age to enlist in the local Pals Battalion. Before leaving he and Jessie become lovers and Arthur places a love note under a heart-shaped stone, on the wall of the field where they meet, for her to read until he returns. The note plays an important part in the story. Jessie’s widowed mother, Dorothy, marries Amos Morgan, a vicious, spiteful man. In 1915, Jessie becomes a vulnerable outcast after finding herself pregnant and being made homeless by her s

Blog tour: The Dressmaker of Paris

Image
Welcome to the blog tour for The Dressmaker of Paris by Georgia Kaufmann ! About the book… Rosa Kusstatscher has built a global fashion empire upon her ability to find the perfect outfit for any occasion. But tonight, as she prepares for the most important meeting of her life, her usual certainty eludes her. What brought her to this moment? As she struggles to select her dress and choose the right shade of lipstick, Rosa begins to tell her incredible story. The story of a poor country girl from a village high in the mountains of Italy. Of Nazi occupation and fleeing in the night. Of hope and heartbreak in Switzerland; glamour and love in Paris. Of ambition and devastation in Rio de Janeiro; success and self-discovery in New York. A life spent running, she sees now. But she will run no longer. About the author… Georgia Kaufmann studied Social Anthropology and Demography at Cambridge, LSE and Oxford. She currently lives within cycling distance of central London with her husban

In conversation with... Ameya Narvankar

Image
Hi Ameya ! First of all, I would like to congratulate you on the publication of Ritu Weds Chandni ! Can you please briefly tell us what it is about? A: Thank you so much, I am grateful to Yali Books for putting this story out in the world! Ritu Weds Chandni celebrates a same-sex relationship of two women and is set against a colourful backdrop of a big fat Indian wedding. It is seen from the point of view of young Ayesha, who is excited to see her cousin Ritu marry her girlfriend Chandni and wants to dance in her baraat (procession). However, some people are not happy and have vowed to stop the wedding; and it is up to Ayesha to save her cousin’s big day. Congratulations are also in order because Ritu Weds Chandni  was nominated a  Best Picture Book of 2020 by Kirkus Reviews. That is an incredible recognition. How does it make you feel? A: It is honestly unbelievable! We are thrilled by all the love the book has received so far. I am hoping that the recognition facilitates the book t

Blog tour: Bad Habits

Image
Happy publication day to Flynn Meaney! Bad Habits is out now and it promises to be a riotously funny novel about the importance of friendship and finding your voice. Intrigued? More about the book… Hilarious, bold and sparky, this is the funniest book you'll read all year. Perfect for fans of Sex Education and Derry Girls . * Alex is a rebel with a purple fauxhawk and biker boots. St Mary's Catholic School is the strict boarding school where she's currently trapped. Despite trying everything she can to get expelled, she's still stuck with the nuns, the prudish attitude and the sexism. So Alex decides to take matters into her own hands. She's going to stage the school's first ever production of The Vagina Monologues... Trouble is, no one else at St Mary's can even bear to say the word 'vagina' out loud! More about the author… Flynn Meaney is the author of The Boy Recession and Bloodthirsty . She studied marketing and French at the University of No

In conversation with... Charlotte Levin

Image
Hi Charlotte ! First of all, I would like to congratulate you on the paperback publication of If I Can’t Have You ! Can you please briefly tell us what it is about? A: Thanks Silvia! Yes, it’s about Constance Little, an emotionally damaged young woman, struggling to cope with the loss of her mother. When she begins an intense affair with Samuel, the new doctor at the medical practice where she's a receptionist, she's finally found the love and security she craves. But for Samuel, it is just all a bit of fun, and when he ends things, Constance is unable to let it go. The novel is a letter to Samuel, an explanation of her increasing obsession and unravelling. Although it has thriller elements, it's not a typical psychological thriller. There's some dark humour too! It's been described as Eleonor Oliphant meets YOU , which I think is a good summation. Did you have the plot entirely figured out when you started writing the book or did it take an unexpected turn as the